TheNetwork Security Essentialsexam was designed to assess the candidate’s knowledge in basic networking and how to configure, monitor, and manage a WatchGuard Firebox. Also, it also includes centralized management and network visibility capabilities.Further, this exam is suitable for network administrators who have expertise configuring and succeeding Firebox devices that work Fireware v12.4.
Examine the Key Concepts of Network Security Essentials
These key concepts are essential to pass the Network Security Essentials exam.
Fireware Knowledge
First, firebox activation and initial set-up
Second, Network configuration
Thirdly, Policy configuration and proxy configuration
Next, Configuration of Subscription Services
Also, User authentication
Device monitoring, logging and reporting are also available
Finally, branch office and mobile VPN configuration
General Network and Security Knowledge
IPv4 networking concepts (subnets TCP/IP, DNS, DHCP and NAT, static routing, etc.) are the best to start with.
Also, general understanding firewalls
Network Security Essentials Study Guide
When it comes to exam preparations, it is crucial to have access to the right learning materials. To pass the exam, you must be determined and consistent. You should also start early and create a strategy for your preparations. This study guide provides all the resources and steps you need to pass the exam. Lets discuss!
All Objectives of the Network Security Essentials Exam Review
WatchGuard’s Official Site is the best place to start your preparations for the Network Security Essentials exam. Also, review all exam objectives. Exam objectives can help you understand the exam and increase your confidence. This step is the foundation of exam preparation. Remember to start with the most trusted website and then move on to other learning sources. WatchGuard Network Security Essentials certification exam includes 6 course topics, namely:
Domain 1: Network security basics (10%)
This domain includes IPv4 addresses, routing, subnetting, routing, Network Address Translation, and packet headers (TCP IP, IP, HTTP). These domains also include the MAC addresses, Network services, ports and protocols.
Domain 2: Administration & Setup (10%)
This domain covers concepts such as Firebox default policies, network settings, and Firebox backup and restore. It also includes Fireware Web Setup Wizard and Feature Keys, Firebox backup, restore, and backup. It also focuses on Configuration File Migration and Default Threat Protection.
Domain 3: Monitoring and logging, reporting (15%)
This domain focuses on Tools to monitor Firebox activity and status, Diagnostic tools in Firebox System Manager, and Firebox log to Dimension or WatchGuard Cloud. It also covers log messages and logging settings for Firebox.
Domain 4: Networking (25%)
This domain covers topics such as Network interface types, security zone settings, and settings, WINS/DNS Routing, and static routes. It also covers NAT types and configurations, DHCP and VLANs, MultiWAN and SD-WAN actions.
Domain 5: Policies and proxies (25%)
Additionally, there are concepts in tis domain that relate to Packet filter policy and proxy policies, Policy precedence, and HTTP proxy. It also includes HTTPS proxy content inspection and Content actions, domain name rules, and Firmware subscription security service.
Domain 6: Authentication & VPNs (15%)
This domain focuses on understanding authentication servers, users and groups in policies, Firebox authentication portal, Mobile VPN routing options, protocols and protocols. It also includes Branch Office VPN gateways, tunnel routes, Branch Office VPN, NAT, and The BOVPN virtual interfaces.
Learning Resource 1: Instructor-Led Training
This course is available for purchase